Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

Johnny Windhurst - Jazz Trumpeter Extraordinaire - His 19 Finest 1945 - 1956

Johnny Windhurst - Jazz Trumpeter Extraordinaire - His 19 Finest 1945 - 1956
CD / Product Number: RTR4316

Following on from the pioneering Dick Cathcart CD (RTR 4308), Retrospective presents more buried jazz treasure with The Imaginative Johnny Windhurst. Of the label’s many rewarding Digby Fairweather collaborations, this one performs the greatest service in throwing the spotlight on a relatively little-known musician of unsurpassed brilliance, yet who seldom visited the recording studio. New York-born Johnny Windhurst (1926-1981) was playing alongside Sidney Bechet as a teenager, apparently destined for jazz immortality, and he was among the most highly regarded of the Eddie Condon ‘school’, one whose skill and imagination was spoken of with awe by fellow musicians. Yet somehow his career didn’t take off and he eventually opted to play in local obscurity. This collection of his rare studio recordings, plus a few spectacular live concert broadcasts, is a revelation, demonstrating the artistry of a true jazz master.


Eddie Condon and his Band
1. A Hundred Years from Now
Johnny Windhurst and Quartet
2. Sweet Georgia Brown
3. Lazy River
The Eddie Condon Band
4. Swing That Music
Walt Gifford and his New Yorkers
5. I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
6. Louisiana
7. Struttin' with Some Barbeque
8. It All Depends on You
9. California Here I Come
Jack Teagarden and Quartet
10. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
Barbara Lea with Johnny Windhurst and his Quintet
11. My Honey's Lovin' Arms
12. I'm Coming, Virginia
Johnny Windhurst and his Quartet
13. Back in Your Own Backyard
14. You Do Something to Me
15. Memphis Blues
16. Strut, Miss Lizzie
17. Georgia on My Mind
18. Lover, Come Back to Me
BONUS TRACK: Sidney Bechet and his New Orleans Rhythm Kings
19. Nobody's Sweetheart