Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket


CD / Product Number: URCD271

This live session features some of the finest late Colyer where he fronts a talented line-up which reunited him with two key musicians from his `classic' 50s line-up: Ray Foxley and Colin Bowden. It is also one of the few occasions where he uses a tenor sax played by George Berry, who blows fluent clarinet for the rest of the gig. Ken himself is on inspired creative form here.
This is the much-awaited audio version for some of the tracks on the Colyer DVD – URDVD267 Ken Colyer On Video - Rare Footage from the Vaults.
Full personnel are Ken Colyer cornet and vocals, George Berry clarinet and tenor sax, Mike Pointon trombone, Ray Foxley piano, John Griffith banjo, Alyn Shipton bass and Colin Bowden drums.


1. When You And I Were Young Maggie
2. There's Yes Yes In Your Eyes
3. New Iberia Blues
4. My Life Will Be Sweeter Someday
5. Salutation March
6. Storyville Blues (aka Those Driftin' Blues)
7. Sing On
8. Swanee River
9. Bye and Bye
10. Home Sweet Home Auf Wiedersehn My Dear

Reviews of This Recording

Colin Bowden's drumming is outstanding. It is world-class he is utterly reliable in his ability to swing. His playing of fill-ins and snares and symbols varies the sound and builds excitement. He is in the tradition of the best New Orleans drummers......This is a record which I will go back to for the interesting way the band plays these melodies, with warmth and excitement.... These are the sounds that Colyer heard when he went to New Orleans in 1952, and tried to play for the rest of his life warm and whole-some music that moves the listener. John Keen Just Jazz