Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket


CD / Product Number: URCD021

3 single CDs and 1 double from this trombone legend. URCD259 is the first CD release of The Original Jazz from 1957. URCD262D is a double which has tracks from Storyville Nights, Dixieland Marching Songs Kid Ory plays WC Handy. URCD236 has the popular Verve album The Kid From New Orleans together with a guest appearance at Newport Jazz Festival. URCD241 has 2 albums Song of the Wayfarer and tracks from Dance with Kid Ory, or Just Listen.


Disc 1: URCD262D A Double CD Storyville Nights

Tracks 1-13 DIXIELAND MARCHING SONGS recorded Hollywood December 21st and 22nd 1960.
Kid Ory - trombone Teddy Buckner - trumpet Bob McCracken - clarinet Lionel Reason - piano Frank Haggerty - guitar Monty Corb - bass Jesse Salles - drums
Tracks 14-18 KID ORY PLAYS WC HANDY recorded Hollywood 31st March and 1st April 1959.
As above but Caughey Roberts replaces Bob McCracken, Cedric Haywood replaces Lionel Reason and Charles Oden replaces Monty Corb.

Disc 1
1: Jambalaya
2: Ting-A-Ling
3: Do What Ory Say
4: Walking With The King
5: Gettysburg March
6: Bye and Bye
7: Battle Hymn of the Republic
8: It's A Long Way To Tipperary
9: Over the Waves
10: Paddle Wheel
11: Lassus Trombone
12: Nobody's Sweetheart
13: San
14: Joe Turner Blues
15: Way Down South
16: Yellow Dog Blues
17: Atlanta Blues
18: Careless Love

Disc: 2
Tracks 1-8 STORYVILLE NIGHTS recorded Hollywood December 5th 1961
Kid Ory - trombone Bob McCracken - clarinet Andy Blakeney - trumpet Bob Van Eps - piano John St Cyr - guitar Bob Boyack - bas Doc Cenardo - drums
Tracks 9-12 KID ORY PLAYS WC HANDY Part 2
Personnel as disc 1

1: Storyville Blues
2: Doctor Jazz
3: Milenberg Joys
4: Jelly Roll Blues
5: Winin' Boy Blues
6: Boogaboo
7: Smoke House Blues
8: Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
9: Aunt Hagar's Blues
10: St Louis Blues
11: Harlem Blues
12: Friendless Blues

Disc 2: URCD259 The Original Jazz

Tracks 1-6: The Original Jazz - Kid Ory and his Orchestra
Edward 'Kid' Ory trombone - Marty Marsala trumpet
Darnell Howard clarinet - Cedric Haywood piano
Frank Haggerty guitar - Clarles Oden bass - Earl Watkins drums
Tracks 7-8: Dance with Kid Ory or Just Listen
Personnel as above
Tracks 9-10: Kid Ory in Europe
As above except Alvin Alcorn trumpet - Phillip Gomez clarinet
Wellman Braud bass - Kansas Fields drums
1: Baby Face
2: Spanish Shawl
3: Ida
4: Down By The Riverside
5: Sweet Lorraine
6: The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise
7: JaDa
8: Dinah
9: Four or Five Times
10: Down in Jungle Town

Disc 3: URCD236 The Kid From New Orleans

Tracks 1-7 from The Kid From New Orleans plus selections from Red Allen, Kid Ory and Jack Teagarden at Newport- Tracks 8, 9 and 10 and Kid Ory in Europe - tracks 11-16.
1: Snag It
2: Somebody Stole My Girl
3: Put On Your Old Grey Bonnet
4: Runnin' Wild
5: Swanee River
6: Ole Miss
7: Black and Blue
8: Jack teagarden Introduction
9: Muskrat Ramble
10: High Society
11: Memphis Blues
12: Washington and Lee Swing
13: Basin Street Blues
14: Tiger Rag
15: Dippermouth Blues
16: South

Disc 4: URCD241 Song of the Wanderer, Dance With Kid Ory, or Just Listen

Tracks 1-8 Song of the Wanderer
Tracks 9-12 Dance with Kid Ory of Just Listen
Personnel: Marty Marsala trumpet, vocal, Kid Ory trombone, vocal, Darnell Howard clarinet, Cedric Haywood piano, Frank Haggerty guitar, Charles Oden string bass, Earl Watkins drums

1: Song of the Wanderer
2: Tailgate Ramble
3: Mahogany Hall Stomp
4: Baby Won't You Please Come Home
5: St Louis Blues
6: Toot Toot Tootsie (Goodbye)
7: Sheik of Araby
8: Tiger Rag
9: Am I Blue?
10: Fidgety Feet
11: Hindustan
12: Twelfth Street Rag