Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

The Jazz Legends Series - FATS WALLER 1922-1943

The Jazz Legends Series - FATS WALLER 1922-1943
CD / Product Number: FABCD356

This 24 track Jazz Legends collection showcases the work of the outstanding pianist, composer and entertainer Fats Waller from his earliest recordings up to his death in 1943. Waller was a hugely popular and equally influential pianist, organist, singer, composer and comedic entertainer during the formative decades of jazz, and his unique style, and memorable hit songs earned him a special place in the world of entertainment, transcending the boundaries between jazz and wider popular culture, and enjoying success on both sides of the Atlantic. Waller was a pioneer of the stride piano style distinctively associated with Harlem, and it was the basis of many of the hits he wrote, which have become perennially popular standards such as Honeysuckle Rose and Aint Misbehaving, among many others. This collection traces his career from his first recordings in the early 20s through to just before his untimely death in 1943, when he appeared in the movie Stormy Weather and features him performing both on piano and organ, singing hits recorded with quintet or sextet Fats Waller and His Rhythm, and also accompanying Adelaide Hall. Its an enjoyable snapshot of a great artist's work, featuring solo and small group formats.


1. Muscle Shoals Blues Fats Waller (C. Oct. 21 1922)
2. Please Take Me Out Of Jail Thomas Waller With Thomas Morris and His Hot Babies (Dec. 1 1927)
3. Handful Of Keys (Mar. 1 1929)
4. The Minor Drag Fats Waller and His Buddies (Mar. 1 1929)
5. Honeysuckle Rose (Nov. 7 1934)
6. Believe It Beloved (Nov. 7 1934)
7. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter Fats Waller and His Rhythm (May 8 1935)
8. My Very Good Friend The Milkman (Jun. 24 1935)
9. Twelfth Street Rag (Jun. 24 1935)
10. When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful Fats Waller and His Rhythm (Nov. 29 1935)
11. I Got Rhythm Fats Waller and His Rhythm (Dec. 4 1935)
12. It's A Sin To Tell A Lie (Jun. 5 1936)
13. Big Chief De Sota (Jun. 5 1936)
14. Blue Turning Grey Over You Fats Waller and His Rhythm (Jun. 11 1937)
15. Ain't Misbehavin' Fats Waller and His Continental Rhythm (Aug. 21 1938)
17. Pent Up In A Penthouse Fats Waller and His Continental Rhythm (Aug. 21 1938)
16. That Old Feeling Fats Waller With Adelaide Hall (Aug. 28 1938)
18. Honey Hush Fats Waller and His Rhythm (Jun. 28 1939)
19. Fats Waller's Original E-Flat Blues (July 16 1940)
20. All That Meat And No Potatoes (Mar. 20 1941)
21. Twenty-Four Robbers Fats Waller and His Rhythm (May 13 1941)
22. Jitterbug Waltz Fats Waller, His Rhythm and His Orch. (Mar. 16 1942)
23. By The Light Of The Silv'ry Moon Fats Waller and His Rhythm (July 13 1942)
24. That Ain't Right (Jan. 23 1943)