Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

Louis Armstrong - The Big Band Sides 1930-1932 2 CDs

Louis Armstrong - The Big Band Sides 1930-1932     2 CDs
CD / Product Number: JSP4202

Louis Armstrong's Hot Five and Hot Seven recordings of the 1920s announced to the world of Jazz - and music in general - that a new genius had arrived. His faultless technique was accompanied by a seemingly unlimited inventiveness. Such was the authority of his tone that he demanded to be heard. But by the time the last Hot Seven recordings were made, Armstrong must have been seeking new challenges, and these stunning Big Band sides are the result. It can be convincingly argued that no understanding of Jazz can be complete without some knowledge of the Hot Fives and Sevens. Similarly, no-one can claim to know the work of Louis Armstrong unless they have heard these important tracks.


Disc 1

1. My Sweet
2. I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me
3. Indian Cradle Song
4. Exactly Like You
5. Dinah
6. Tiger Rag
Tracks 7-18 Louis Armstrong and His Sebastian New Cotton Club Orchestra
7. I'm A Ding Dong Daddy (From Dumas) - 8. I'm In The Market For You
9. Confessin' (That I Love You)
10. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight
11. Body And Soul
12. Memories Of You
13. You're Lucky To Me
14. Sweetherats On Parade
15. You're Drivin' Me Crazy
16. The Peanut Vendor
17. Just A Gigolo
18. Shine
19. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
20. I Surrender Dear
21. When It's Sleepy Time Down South

Disc 2

1. Blue Again
2. Little Joe
3. I'll Be Glad When You're Dead, You Rascal You
4. Them There Eyes
5. When Your Lover Has Gone
6. Lazy River
7. Chinatown, My Chinatown
8. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
9. Star Dust
10. You Can Depend On Me
11. Georgia On My Mind
12. The Lonesome Road
13. I Got Rhythm
14. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
15. Kickin' The Gong Around
16. Home
17. All Of Me
18. Love, You Funny Thing
19. The New Tiger Rag
20. Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now
21. Lawd, You Made The Night Too Long