Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

BBC Jazz from the 70s and 80s in Stereophonic Sound - 3 volumes

BBC Jazz from the 70s and 80s in Stereophonic Sound - 3 volumes
CD / Product Number: URCD012

All the greats of British jazz in 3 volumes of BBC recordings from the 70s and 80s in stereophonic sound!
Volume 1 is URCD152 and features the bands of Humphrey Lyttelton, Alan Elsdon and Sammy Rimmington plus the Pat Halcox All Stars and the John Barnes/Roy Williams Quintet.
Volume 2 is URCD153 and features the bands of Chris Barber and Rod Mason, plus Digby Fairweather Friends and the Bruce Turner Jump Band. Volume 3 is URCD155 and features Ken Colyer's All Star Jazzmen, The Pete Allen Jazz Band, George Chisholm's Gentlemen of Jazz and the Cy Laurie and Eggy Ley Hot Quintet.


Disc 1: Volume 1 URCD152

Tracks 1 to 3 Humphrey Lyttelton and His Band
Tracks 4 to 6 Alan Elsdon Jazz Band
Tracks 7 to 9 Sammy Rimington Band
Tracks 10 to 12 Pat Halcox All Stars
Tracks 13 to 15 John BarnesRoy Williams Quintet

1: Sir Humph’s Delight
2: Echoes of Harlem
3: Fickle Fanny Strikes Again
4: Swing That Music
5: Two Deuces
6: Papa Dip
7: Little Girl
8: Take the A Train
9: Lou-esy-an-i-a
10: China Boy
11: Exactly Like You
12: Flintstones Theme
13: People will say we’re in Love
14: California here I Come
15: Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans

Disc 2: Volume 2 URCD153

Tracks 1 to 2 Chris Barber’s Jazz Band 28th November 1978
Tracks 3 to 4 Chris Barber's Jazz Band 1st December 1977
Tracks 5 to 8 Rod Mason’s Jazz Band 3rd February 1980
Tracks 9 to 11 Digby Fairweather Friends 23rd March 1980
Track 12 Digby Fairweather Friends 22nd March 1981
Tracks 13 to 16 Bruce Turner Jump Band 8th August 1982

1: I Want to be Happy
2: Indiana
3: When the Street Band Played that Ragtime Melody
4: Rent Party Blues
5: Potato Head Blues
6: I’ve Got what it Takes
7: Someday You’ll be Sorry
8: Million Dollar Secret
9: Coquette
10: Days of Wine and Roses
11: She’s Just My Size
12: Jumping The Blues
13: Easy Money
14: Hop, Skip and Jump
15: Opus 5
16: One O’Clock Jump

Disc 3: Volume 3 URCD155

Tracks 1 to 4 Ken Colyer’s All Star Jazzmen
Tracks 5 to 8 The Pete Allen Jazz Band
Tracks 9 to 11 The Cy Laurie and Eggy Ley Hot Quintet
Tracks 12 to 14 George Chisholm and His Gentlemen of Jazz

1: After You’ve Gone
2: Mahogany Hall Stomp
3: Melancholy Blues
4: Milneburg Joys
5: Down in Honky Tonk Town
6: Harlem Bound
7: Black and Tan Fantasy
8: South Rampart Street Parade
9: Four or Five Times
10: Egg White Blues
11: Shine
12: Feet First
13: West End Blues
14: Ain’t Misbehavin’