Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

STU PLETCHER - The Story of Stewart Pletcher 1924-1937

STU PLETCHER  - The Story of Stewart Pletcher 1924-1937
CD / Product Number: BDW8055

A thorough review of trumpeter Stu Pletcher's career, with recordings by the Yale Collegians, Red Norvo, Ben Pollack, Smith Ballew, as well as two privately-recorded piano solos by Pletcher. The detailed liner notes are by Tom Pletcher, Stu's son and a jazz musician in his own right. The 40 page booklet features photographs from the Pletcher family's archives, plus full discography and personnel.


Hackley Orchestra 1923-'24
1. Covered Wagon Days
Carl Webster's Yale Collegians
2. If I'm Without You
3. Dream Child
4. Puttin' On The Ritz
5. With You
6. Puttin' On The Ritz
Pletcher's Eli Prom Trotters
7. I Like To Do Things For You
8. That's Where You're Wrong
The Yale Collegians (Director-Robert Bruce)
9. And Then Your Lips Met Mine
10. What's The Use Of Living Without Love?
11. Blue Again
Stewart Pletcher piano and vocals
12. Rockin' Chair
13. Ain't Misbehavin'
Ben Pollack and His Orchestra
14. My Little Grass Shack In Kealakekua, Hawaii
Smith Ballew and His Orchestra
15. Be Careful, Young Lady
Red Norvo and His Swing Sextette
16. Decca Stomp
Kenneth 'Red' Norvo and His Swing Sextette
17. I Got Rhythm
18. Lady Be Good
Stew Pletcher and His Orchestra (Red Norvo, Director)
19. The Touch Of Your Lips
20. Will I Ever Know?
21. I Don't Want To Make History (I Just Want To Make Love)
22. I Hope Gabriel Likes My Music
23. You
24. You Never Looked So Beautiful
Red Norvo and His Orchestra
25. Remember