Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

WILBUR SWEATMAN - 1916-35 (2 CD Set)

WILBUR SWEATMAN -  1916-35 (2 CD Set)
CD / Product Number: BDW8046

A compilation of pioneering recordings made by African-American clarinetist Wilbur Sweatman, a veteran of the vaudeville stage who made an important contribution to the popularization of jazz music in the late Teens and early Twenties. This set was compiled by Mark Berresford, an authority on Sweatman, and includes extensive liner notes written by Mark based on his research into Sweatman's life and music.


Disc 1

Clarinet solo by Wilber C. Sweatman (Sic), Accompanied By Emerson Symphony Orchestra -1
Clarinet solo by Wilber C. Sweatman (Sic), Accompanied By Emerson Trio -2
Clarinet solo by Wilber S. Sweatman (Sic), Accompanied By Emerson String Trio -3
1. My Hawaiian Sunshine
2. My Hawaiian Sunshine
3. Down Home Rag
4. Down Home Rag
Wilbur Sweatman and his Jass Band
5. Dance And Grow Thin
6. I Wonder Why. From 'Love O’ Mike'
7. Boogie Rag
8. Joe Turner Blues
9. A Bag Of Rags
Wilbur Sweatman and his Jass Band
10. Dancing An American Rag
11. Regretful Blues
12. Ev’rybody’s Crazy ‘Bout The Doggone Blues But I’m Happy
Dance Music
13. Ev’rybody’s Crazy ‘Bout The Doggone Blues
14. Regretful Blues
Wilber C. Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band
15. The Darktown Strutters’ Ball (Introducing (1) I’m Sorry I Made You Cry)
16. Goodbye Alexander (Introducing (1) Oh! Frenchy)
17. Indianola (Introducing: Those Draftin’ Blues)
18. Oh! You La! La! (Introducing:(1) I Want Him Back Again
19. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
20. Those Draftin’ Blues (Introducing: Somebody’s Done Me Wrong)
21. Has Anybody Seen My Corrine (Introducing: (1) Down On Bull Frog’s Isle (2) Livery Stable Blues)
22. Dallas Blues (Introducing: (1) At The Funny Page Ball (2) Lovin’ (I Can’t Live Without It)
23. Dallas Blues
24. Ringtail Blues
25. Bluin’ The Blues
26. Has Anybody Seen My Corrine?
27. Ringtail Blues
28. Rainy Day Blues
29. Ja-Da! (Ja-Da, Ja-Da, Jing, Jing, Jing)
30. A Good Man Is Hard To Find (Introducing: Sweet Child)

Disc 2

Wilbur Sweatman’s Original Jazz Band
1. That’s Got ‘Em
2. A Good Man Is Hard To Find
3. Lonesome Road
4. Kansas City Blues
5. 2 Slide, Kelly, Slide
6. Kansas City Blues
7. I’ll Say She Does
8. Lucille
9. Hello, Hello!
10. I Ain’t Gonna Give Nobody None O’ This Jellyroll (Introducing: Just Leave It To Me)
11. But (Introducing: Tiddle-Dee Winks)
12. Think Of Me Little Daddy (Introducing: I’m Going Back To My Used To Be)
Wilbur Sweatman and his Acme Syncopaters
13. Battleship Kate
Wilbur Sweatman’s Brownies
14. Battleship Kate
15. It Makes No Difference Now
Wilbur Sweatman acc. by Walter Hall, piano and Harry Batcheldor, banjo
16. Get It Now
17. Poor Papa
Wilbur Sweatman acc. by Henry Green trombone, Ida Roberts, piano and Hazel Vanverlayer
18. Battleship Kate
19. Sweat Blues
20. Jim Town Blues
Wilbur Sweatman, Clarinet With Banjo And Piano
21. Sweat Blues
22. 622 Got ‘Em Blues
23. Breakdown Blues
24. Battleship Kate
Wilbur Sweatman and his Orchestra
25. Battleship Kate
26. The Florida Blues
27. Whatcha Gonna Do
28. The Hooking Cow Blues