Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

STORMING SESSION - The Crane River Jazz Band - Ken Colyer's Jazzmen

STORMING SESSION - The Crane River Jazz Band - Ken Colyer's Jazzmen
CD / Product Number: URCD159

Founded in 1949 by the Colyer Brothers - Ken and Bill - The Crane River Jazz Band played an important part in the British Jazz scent of the early 1950s. The first 10 tracks on this recording come from Germany 1973, the last 4 from The Pizza Express in Dean Street in 1977. The personnel are Ken Colyer, trumpet, Sonny Morris, cornet, Monty Sunshine, clarinet John R T Davis, trombone, alto sax, bass cornet Pat Hawes, piano, Julian Davies, bass Ben Marshall, banjo


Storming Session

Previously unavailable and in German archives, we are very proud to release this CD. A must for Ken Colyer and Crane River enthusiasts. Excellent sound quality. Generally acknowledged as one of the best, probably THE best Crane River CD currently available.

1. Just a Little While to Stay Here
2. After Dark
3. Trombonium
4. Ballin the Jack
5. Moose March
6. Sometimes my Burden is So Hard to Bear
7. Hiawatha
8. Snag It
9. Im Travellin
10. Canal Street Blues

Reviews of This Recording

The importance of this band in the history of British Jazz cannot be underestimated...this recording is part of the story - BUY IT. Just Jazz