Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

Humphrey Lyttelton his Band Live At Nottingham Jazz Festival 1972 - Double CD

Humphrey Lyttelton  his Band Live At Nottingham Jazz Festival 1972 - Double CD
CD / Product Number: CLGCD049

This previously unreleased recording from the Humphrey Lyttelton archives features Lyttelton and his band with guests at the Albany Hotel in Nottingham in 1972.
The lineup features current and past members of the band with the incomparable Humph on trumpet and clarinet, Bruce Turner, Kathy Stobart and Tony Coe on saxophones, John Picard on trombone and the rhythm section of Eddie Harvey on piano, bassist Dave Green and drummer Tony Mann. They perform a selection of classic jazz standards, many written by or associated with Duke Ellington as well as one original, the amusingly titled Concerto for Dave Green on trumpet and Humphrey Lyttelton on Bass.
Humph's introductions to the various pieces are always hilarious and make unique use of English as it should be spoken! And the 8-page booklet contains his caricatures of the musicians alongside rare photos from the archives.
Personnel: Humphrey Lyttelton (trumpet and clarinet), Bruce Turner (alto saxophone and clarinet), Kathy Stobart (tenor and baritone saxophones), Tony Coe (tenor saxophone), John Picard (trombone), Eddie Harvey (piano), Dave Green (bass), Tony Mann (drums)


Disc 1

1. I Double Dare You
2. Intro 1
3. Talk of the Town
4. Doggin' Around
5. Intro 2
6. They Can't Take That Away From me
7. Intro 3
8. Concerto For Dave Green On Trumpet and Humphrey Lyttleton on base
9. Intro 4
10. Rifftide
11. Intro 5
12. Tenderly
13. Intro 6
14. Handid
15. Intro 7
16. The Hucklebuck

Disc 2

1. Slippery Horn
2. Intro 1
3. Creole Love Call
4. Intro 2
5. Sonny Boy
6. Intro 3
7. Crazy She Calls Me
8. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
9. Sing Off - The Song Is Ended / Goodnight Sweetheart
10. Indiana