Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

Humphrey Lyttelton and his Band with Marie Knight 1958

Humphrey Lyttelton and his Band with Marie Knight 1958
CD / Product Number: CLGC047

Calligraph Records releases the first album in the 'Humph Live Series'. Never before released, this re-mastered recording stands the test of time and delivers! This collection of undiscovered live material was recorded by Allan Gilmour at the Trent Bridge Hotel in Nottingham. The recording captures the Humph band supported by blues and gospel legend Marie Knight. Her stunning vocals inspire the Lyttelton eight piece band to produce what Humph would always recall as one of the band's most memorable performances. This is a must for Humph fans and for anyone wanting to experience the atmosphere and energy of jazz in the UK circa 1958.
Personnel: Humphrey Lyttelton (trumpet), Marie Knight (vocal), John Picard (trombone), Tony Coe (alto sax/clarinet), Jimmy Skidmore (tenor sax), Joe Temperley (baritone sax), Ian Armit (piano), Brian Brocklehurst (bass), Eddie Taylor (drums)


1. Hi' Ya
2. Humph Intro
3. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
4. Lonesome Blues
5. Blue Skies
6. Lonesome Road
7. That Old Black Magic
8. St Louis Blues
9. Shake Rattle And Role
10. My Man Has Gone
11. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
12. Marie Intro
13. I Must Tell Jesus
14. When The Saints

Reviews of This Recording

A true gem...the best band Humph ever had...combination of sharp ensemble and loose, easy swing that only the best can achieve. The Observer, (Dave Gelly), April 25, 2010