Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

THE MAGIC OF A THOUSAND STRINGS - FARYL SMITH with The International Harp Ensemble

THE MAGIC OF A THOUSAND STRINGS - FARYL SMITH with The International Harp Ensemble
CD / Product Number: URCD250S

THE INTERNATIONAL HARP ENSEMBLE is unique in the Europe and was originally formed to provide professional training and introduce the full range of the harp to the general public. However its sound has resonated around concert halls across Europe and has left audiences clamouring for more ! Founded by award-winning solo harpist Luisa-Maria Cordell in 2002, The International Harp Ensemble is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year and numbers 33 harpists of all ages, all of whom are dedicated to bringing ‘the magic of a thousand strings’ to a wider general public. The sound of one harp is beautiful, but together the Ensemble has a depth and excitement that is truly amazing. The Ensemble’s unique style and rich repertoire are perfectly showcased on this CD – The Magic of a Thousand Strings – which is also the title of their current touring show.
The Harps are joined on both this CD and the touring show by special guest singer FARYL SMITH. Her youth and vocal timbre are the perfect complement to the Orchestra’s young talent and haunting sound. Faryl was a finalist in the 2009 Britain's Got Talent and her debut album was the fastest selling debut album EVER! It was nominated for a Classical Brit Award in the Best Album category, and Faryl herself was nominated as Best Young Performer. Now 16, Faryl is singing better than ever, and her haunting tone is wonderfully enhanced by the Harp Ensemble. This is truly a matching made in Heaven!


Faryl Smith sings on Tracks 1, 6, 10, 14 and 17
Nick Cartledge - flute Track 5
William Ball - oboe Track 11
James Ainsworth - drums Track 13
Jamie Cordell - baritone Track 14
Mike Popplett - Lyrics Track 14
Plus Hilary Taylor - cello and Edward Ball - double bass

1. The Rose
2. Floating in the Blue
3. Wilifjord
4. Nigan Atik
5. A Celtic Medley
6. O Mio Babbino Caro
7. Song to The Moon
8. Canon
9. Le Onde
10. Ave Maria
11. Gabriel's Oboe
12. Magic of a Thousand Strings
13. He's A Pirate
14. Hallelujah
15. Habanera
16. Clocks
17. Danny Boy