Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket


CD / Product Number: DGF69

Composed of musicians largely from St Louis and Kansas City, the Missourians were one of the most exciting aggregatons on the New York scene. While in residence at The Cotton Club betweeb 1924-1927, the band changed its name to the Cotton Club Orchestra, recordings for both Columbia and Gennett. After leaving the Cotton Club on the death of bandleader Andy Preer, they toured extensively with the acclaimed singer Ethel Waters, finally returning to New York in 1928 and changing its name back to The Misourians.
This CD has 15 tracks of The Misourians, plus related sounds from the Seminole Syncopators - Harry's Happy Four - Sara Martin and Andy Preer's Cotton Club Orchestra!


Seminole Syncopators
1. Blue Grass Blues
2. Sailing on Lake Ponchartrain
Harry’s Happy Four
3. Swinging the Swing
4. A St. Louis Chant
Sara Martin With Harry’s Happy Four
5. Some of These Mornings
6. Yes Sir, That’s My Baby
7. Alabamy Bound
Harry’s Happy Four
8. Western Melody
9. Blues That’s All
Andy Preer’s Cotton Club Orchestra
10. I Found A New Baby
The Missourians
11. Market Street Stomp
12. Ozark Mountain Blues
13. Ozark Mountain Blues 2
14. You’ll Cry For Me But I’ll Be Gone
15. You’ll Cry For Me But I’ll Be Gone 2
16. Missouri Moan
17. I’ve Got Someone
18. 400 Hop
19. Vine Street Drag
20. Scotty Blues
21. 200 Squabble
22. Swingin’ Dem Cats
23. Stoppin’ The Traffic
24. Prohibition Blues