Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket


CD / Product Number: URCD221

10 tracks from the 1956 American Cavalier LP, featuring George Lewis with Thomas Jefferson (trumpet) Bob Thomas (trombone) Alton Purnell (piano and vocals)Alcide 'Slow Drag' Pavageau (String Bass)Joe Watkins (drums and vocals).
PLUS six tracks from 1957 where George is joined by Peter Stanton (cornet)Dick Oxtot (banjo) Barbara Dane (vocals) and Lelias Sharpton (bass)


Tracks 1-10 Coast Recording Studios, San Francisco June 7th 1956 - George Lewis - Thomas Jefferson - Bob Thomas - Alton Purnell - Alcide 'Slow Drag' Parageau and Joe Watkins
Tracks 11-16 Jenny Lind Hall March 3rd 1957 - George Lewis - PT Stranton - Dick Oxtot - Lelias Sharpton - Barbara Dane

1. Original Dixieland One Step
2. Four or Five Times
3. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
4. Salty Dog
5. That's A Plenty
6. Move the Body Over
7. Don't Give up the Ship
8. Didn't He Ramble
9. She's Crying For Me
10. Tishomingo Blues
11. Should I?
12. Mecca Flat Blues
13. Till We Meet Again
14. Glory Of Love
15. Good Morning Blues
16. Smiles