Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

OSCAR 'PAPA' CELESTIN and his Original Tuxedo Jazz Band 1949-1953

OSCAR 'PAPA' CELESTIN and his Original Tuxedo Jazz Band 1949-1953
CD / Product Number: 504CD54

Oscar 'Papa' Celestin's historic recordings, made in the 1920s for Okeh and Columbia, have assured his star place in the New Orleans firmament. He retired from music during the depression when gigs were hard to come by, but in 1946, encouraged by the National Jazz Foundation he formed a new band and never looked back! He enjoyed a residency at the Paddock Lounge on Bourbon Street in New Orleans and was regularly featured on the radio, spreading his fame.
All the titles on this compilation appear here for the first time on CD. They were recorded between 1949 and 1953 at venues across New Orleans. Oscar 'Papa' Celestin trumpet, vocals - Bill Matthews trombone
Alphonse Picou clarinet - Octave Crosby piano
Richard Alex string bass - Christopher Happy Goldston drums - plus sessions with Eddie Pierson trombone - Louis Barbarin drums - Joseph Thomas clarinet and others.
A generous 73:05 running time over 24 tracks.


Total Playing time 73 minutes 5 seconds

1. Lil' Lisa Jane
2. 12th Street Rag
3. My Josephine
4. Clarinet Marmalade
5. Basin Street Blues
6. Milenberg Joys
7. Marie Le Veau
8. Saints
9. High Society
10. Oh Didn't He Ramble
11. Sweet Gerogia Brown
12. Tiger Rag
13. Muskrat Ramble
14. Dippermouth Blues
15. Tiger Rag
16. Darktown Strutter's Ball
17. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
18. Maryland My Maryland
19. Saints
20. High Society
21. Lil' Lisa Jane
22. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
23. Eh La Bas
24. Basin Street Blues