Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Mail Order
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today
Basket: 0 items / £0.00 + shipping view basket

GEORGE LEWIS with Papa Bue's Viking Jazzband

GEORGE LEWIS with Papa Bue's Viking Jazzband
CD / Product Number: STCD6018

This was the George Lewis band at its zenith. These influential New Orleans jazzmen became icons to several generations of young musicians who continued to perpetuate their sound and styles. Looking back, it is difficult to believe that the tiny Club Hangover employed two bands playing six nights a week on a long time residency. During their weekly broadcasts, the Lewis band displayed a versatile approach to rags, blues, stomps, and pop tunes. The preservation of the extraordinary material on this CD discloses many brilliant facets of the George Lewis band.
Personnel - George Lewis - Finn Otto Hansen - Arne Bue Jensen - Jorgen Syare - Bjarne Petersen - Mogens Seidein - Ib Lindschow
18 great tracks - full details inside.


Recorded Copenhagen March 1959

1. The Old Rugged Cross
2. Now is the Hour
3. Martha
4. In the Sweet Bye and Bye
5. Listen to the Mocking Bird
6. The Old Spinning Wheel
7. Silver Threads Among the Gold
8. Isle of Capri
9. Mary Wore a Golden Chain
10. Salutation March
11. Far Away Blues
12. You Always Hurt the One you Love
13. If I Ever Cease to Love You
14. Martha - take 1
15. In the Sweet Bye and Bye - take 1
16. You Always Hurt the One You Love - take 1
17. Mary Wore a Golden Chain - take 2
18. If I Ever Cease to Love - take 2

Reviews of This Recording

George Lewis is one of the greatest New Orleans clarinet players, and we are all fortunate that this beautiful recording exists. If you like New Orleans jazz, you shouldn't even think twice before ordering it. Very well recorded, Lewis plays brilliantly. The arrangements sound fresh and exciting, often bold and strong but occasionally heartbreaking in their fragility. Well worth the money.
Amazon Review